History

The Corona Theatre is, to some extent, a point. A point at the center of a booming district in full transformation. The starting point for an extraordinary adventure, which began in the early 90s, to revive a theatre that saw the glory days of Montreal. An anchor point for residents of the south-west, in love with their environment, their history and heritage. A merging point for many artists whose imagination and inspiration create shows to promote the songs and music, from here or elsewhere. And if it is true that light is the absence of darkness, we shall hope we will be many in this neighbourhood and on this island, to illuminate.
 

An Inspiring Place!

First known as the Corona Theatre, it was built in 1912, at the time where silent movies were accompanied by music. Light comedy shows were also presented during that time. Therefore, you can find a small stage for manoeuvring, dressing rooms under it and an orchestra pit at the forefront.
 
The Corona Theatre was a successful theatre until the early sixties. Under the management of the city of Montreal in 1967, for an urban renovation project, it is threatened by demolition. It is then forgotten, yet still remains alive in the minds of the people from Montreal’s south-west district.
 
At the end of the eighties, the theatre becomes a shooting location for movies such as “Une histoire inventée” by Marc-André Forcier and “Nénette” by Jean Beaudin. During the summer of 87, the Corona Theatre presents “La Donna Delinquanra”, an installation by Martha Fleming and Lyne Lapointe (Les petites filles aux allumettes).
 
Of all the cinematographic theatres of its kind, the Corona Theatre is the only survivor of which the exterior (by the uniqueness of the facade arch) and the interior have remained almost unchanged.
 
The Corona Theatre is bought by the non-lucrative corporation “Institut des arts de la scène” in October 1997. After Phase I of the renovations, the theatre reopens in October 1998. The facade was completed with the second phase of renovations (2003-2004) in addition to the continuation of the interior restoration.
 
Since then, the theatre has been home to artists and creators, as well gatherings of business associations and filmmakers around the globe.
 
A place to broadcast and celebrate those who create and interpret music and songs.
 

The Corona Theatre Today

 

  • A venue of choice when it comes to the creation of original musical shows.
  • A residence place for artists from here and abroad.
  • A center of creation where new broadcast trends find life and energy.
  • A place for presentations, events and celebrations for various organizations and corporations.
  • It welcomes schools and district organizations for performing arts related workshops in association with culture-education programs

Histoire

Le Théâtre Corona, c’est en quelque sorte un point. Un point au centre d’un quartier en pleine effervescence, en pleine transformation. Le point de départ d’une extraordinaire aventure, commencée au début des années 90, pour relancer un théâtre qui a fait les beaux jours du Montréal faste.
 

Un lieu inspirant

Le Théâtre Corona est érigé, en 1912, à l’époque où les films muets sont agrémentés de musique. On y présente aussi des spectacles de vaudeville. C’est pourquoi on y trouve une petite scène pour la manoeuvre des décors, des loges d’artistes sous la scène et une fosse d’orchestre à l’avant-scène.
 
Le Théâtre Corona vit des années prolifiques jusqu’au début des années 1960. Repris par la ville de Montréal en 1967 dans un projet de rénovation urbaine, il est menacé de démolition. Il tombe alors dans l’oubli, mais demeure vivant dans la mémoire collective de la population de l’Arrondissement du Sud-Ouest de Montréal.
 
À la fin des années 1980, il sert de lieu de tournage pour les films : “Une histoire inventé” de Marc-André Forcier et “Nénette” de Jean Beaudin. Durant l’été 87, le Théâtre Corona devient un lieu d’exposition pour la présentation de la “Donna Delinquanra”, installation de Martha Flemming et Lyne Lapointe (Les Petites Filles aux Allumettes).
 
De tous les édifices de type théâtre cinématographique, le Théâtre Corona est le seul survivant dont l’extérieur – par l’originalité de sa façade en arche et l’aménagement des espaces intérieurs – sont demeurés typiques.
 
Le Théâtre Corona est acheté par la corporation sans but lucratif L’Institut des Arts de la Scène en octobre 1997 et la phase I des rénovations suit sa réouverture en octobre 1998. La phase II des travaux, réalisés en 2003 et 2004, permet d’achever les travaux de la façade en plus de poursuivre la restauration intérieure.
 
Le Théâtre accueille depuis, des artistes et des créateurs, sans oublier des rencontres de gens d’affaires et de nombreux producteurs de films d’ici et de l’étranger.
 

Le Théâtre Corona aujourd’hui…

 

  • Un lieu unique de diffusion pour accueillir et célébrer ceux et celles qui créent et interprètent la musique et la chanson.
  • Une tribune de choix à la création du spectacle musical original.
  • Un lieu de résidence pour les artistes d’ici et de l’étranger.
  • Un centre de création unique où les nouvelles tendances de diffusion trouvent souffle et énergie.
  • Un lieu tout indiqué pour la tenue d’évènements corporatifs, de souper-spectacles et de sorties de groupes.
  • Un lieu de présentations d’évènements et de célébrations sur mesure pour diverses organisations et corporations.
  • L’accueil des écoles et organismes du quartier pour la tenue d’ateliers ouverts portant sur les arts de la scène dans le cadre de programmes culture-éducation.